Institutional Biosafety Committee

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) provides review and oversight of all University research and teaching activities conducted by faculty, staff, students and/or visiting scientists that involve the use of biological agents.  Biological agents include recombinant DNA molecules as defined by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant DNA Molecules (NIH Guidelines), infectious and potentially infectious agents, human and non-human primate materials, and biological toxins.  

Princeton University’s biological safety program is managed by the Office of Environmental Health and Safety and IBC is administered by the Office of Research Integrity and Assurance.

The IBC Responsibilities:

  • Review research involving biological agents conducted at or sponsored by the University and approves those projects that comply with NIH Guidelines, applicable regulations and University polices.
  • Develop and implement policies, procedures, and guidelines related to the use of biohazardous agents.
  • Assist Principal Investigators and others at the University in meeting their responsibilities for assessing risks, establishing policies and procedures, training personnel, and maintaining facilities and equipment.
  • Provides guidance and support to the Biological Safety Officer and the Office of Environmental Health and Safety in carrying out the requirements of the University’s Biosafety program.
  • Investigate any significant problems, violations of NIH Guidelines, or any significant research-related accidents and illnesses and issues reports to the NIH.
The following University entities oversee the Institutional Biological Safety program:

IBC Roster

  • Alexander Ploss, Chair, Molecular Biology
  • Mridula Bajaj, Non-affiliated member, Mount Laurel Schools
  • Mark Brynildsen, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Laura Conour, ex officio, Laboratory Animal Resources
  • Irini Daskalaki, MD, University Health Services
  • Meagan Fitzpatrick, ex officio, Environmental Health and Safety
  • Jeffrey Grosser, Non-affiliated member, Deputy Administrator/Health Officer
  • Oliver Huang, Princeton Neuroscience Institute
  • Andrew Leifer, Physics and Princeton Neuroscience Institute
  • Jamus MacGuire, ex officio, Laboratory Animal Resources
  • Celeste Nelson, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Mario Rodriguez, NHP Research Program